Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Corn RoastWhat does the following list of items have in common? Carnival rides, fried food, farm animals, exhibits and blue ribbons. They’re all things you find and love about fairs. 

This past week, the Wisconsin State Fair was held in West Allis. For the second year in a row, over 1 million attendees participated in festivities throughout the 11 days of operation. The New Berlin Lions Club was a part of the record-breaking fair with their famous Wisconsin grown corn. It is estimated that during their time at the fair, they roasted and served over 107,000 ears of corn.

The club has been roasting corn since they were first offered the opportunity at the Butler Lions Frontier Days celebration in 1957. The operation has gone through major changes in nearly 60 years, but the reason to keep coming back has remained the same: to return more money to the needs of their community. Great job, New Berlin Lions!

It may be the middle of August, but summer is not over yet. If you’ve been longing for a taste of buttery, sweet corn or to take a ride on a ferris wheel, there is still time. Below is a list of fairs happening around our state, including one right down the road from the Lions Pride office*:

Wednesday, August 13, to Sunday, August 17

Dodge County
Brown County
Juneau County
Kenosha County
Grant County 

Thursday, August 14, to Sunday, August 17

Athens Fair
Oconto County
Waushara County
Sawyer County 

Tuesday, August 19, to Sunday, August 24

Head of the Lakes
Manitowoc County 

Wednesday, August 20, to Sunday, August 24

Waupaca County

Thursday, August 21, to Sunday, August 24

Marinette County 

Friday, August 22, to Sunday, August 24

Florence County 

Wednesday, August 27 to Monday, September 1

Walworth County
Central Wisconsin Fair
Shawano County 

Thursday, August 28 to Monday, September 1

Ashland County
Iowa County
Sheboygan County 

Friday, August 29 to Monday, September 1

Calumet County
*Portage County Fair held in Rosholt 

Wednesday, September 3 to Sunday, September 7

Richland County 

Wednesday, September 10 to Sunday, September 14

Vernon County 

Friday, September 26, to Sunday, September 28

Milwaukee County Fair

Links and more information on Wisconsin Fairs can be found here

Will you plan on attending a fair yet this summer?

What’s your favorite part?

Advertisements